Sorghum Checkoff Board Directors Sworn in, Officers Elected

Five Sorghum Checkoff board directors were sworn in during the December 13, 2017, board meeting in Lubbock, Texas.

Returning to the board are Verity Ulibarri of McAlister, New Mexico, and Carlton Bridgeforth of Tanner, Alabama. Newly appointed to the board are Klint G. Stewart, of Columbus, Nebraska; Shayne C. Suppes of Scott City, Kansas; and Charles Ray Huddleston of Celina, Texas.

The newly sworn in board members were appointed by the U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue in December and will serve a three-year term.

"We are pleased to welcome both the new and returning directors to the Sorghum Checkoff," said Sorghum Checkoff Executive Director Florentino Lopez. "The board of directors are crucial in our efforts to create producer profitability, expand market opportunities and increase demand for sorghum, and we look forward to working with the appointed board of directors in creating success for our farmers."

New leadership was also elected during the December board meeting. Verity Ulibarri will serve as chairman, Jim Massey as vice chairman, Carlton Bridgeforth as treasurer and Craig Poore as secretary.

"I am excited to work with a great group of directors over the coming year," Ulibarri said. "The Sorghum Checkoff board of directors represents all sorghum farmers from across the U.S., and each director brings valuable ideas and experiences. We have a tremendous task before us, and I look forward to serving in this role."

Dale Murden of Harlingen, Texas; John Dvoracek of Farwell, Nebraska; and Adam Baldwin of McPherson, Kansas, completed their terms as board directors. The exiting board directors were honored for their service to the Sorghum Checkoff at a ceremony on Dec. 12.

"We extend our sincerest gratitude to Dale, John and Adam for all of their work on the board," said Sorghum Checkoff CEO Tim Lust. "They have dedicated countless hours over the past six years to serving on the board and working hard to help bring profitability, growth and innovation to sorghum farmers and this industry."

For more information on how to become a Sorghum Checkoff board member, click here. 

2017 New Board Directors

From Left to Right: Klint Stewart, Charles Huddleston, Carlton Bridgeforth, Verity Ulibarri, Craig Shackelford and Shayne Suppes.