USDA Announces United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board Appointments

WASHINGTON, DC (September 25, 2020) – The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) today announced the appointment of five members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board. All five appointees will serve three-year terms starting December 2020 and ending December 2023.

According to the USDA press release, the sorghum farmers appointed to the board are: 

  • Klint G. Stewart, Columbus, Nebraska, At-Large Member
  • Ethan J. Miller, Columbia, Missouri, At-Large Member
  • James Jay Haase, Eads, Colorado, At-Large Member
  • Shayne C. Suppes, Scott City, Kansas, Kansas Member
  • Charles Ray Huddleston, Celina, Texas, Texas Member

The 13-member United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board is composed of nine sorghum farmers who represent the three states with the largest sorghum production – Kansas, Texas and Oklahoma – and four at-large national representatives. More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) United Sorghum Checkoff Program webpage and on the board’s website,


The United Sorghum Checkoff Program is a producer-funded organization that is dedicated to improving the sorghum industry through research, promotion and education. For more information about the USCP and other research projects please visit