Agriculture Secretary Vilsack Announces Sorghum Checkoff Board Appointments

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced today the appointments of four members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program board of directors. Members will serve three-year terms.

According to the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service press release, the growers appointed to the board are:

  • Boyd Funk, Garden City, Kansas
  • Craig Poore, Alton, Kansas
  • David Fremark, St. Lawrence, South Dakota, at-large member 
  • Jim Massey IV, Robstown, Texas

“We are looking forward to the diverse perspectives of oncoming leadership,” said Florentino Lopez, Sorghum Checkoff executive director. “Our priority is to achieve our main objective, producer profitability, and these new farmer leaders will be an asset to the board and to the industry.”

The board is structured so that the state with the largest production is allocated five positions. The state with the second largest production is allocated three positions. The state with the third largest production is allocated one position. There are four at-large national positions for which at least two representatives must be appointed from states other than the top three sorghum producing states. The maximum number of producers from one state is limited to six.

The 13-member board is authorized by the Commodity Promotion, Research, and Information Act of 1996. The Secretary selected the appointees from sorghum producers nominated by certified sorghum producer organizations.

The new directors will be sworn in during the Sorghum Checkoff December board meeting.

Outgoing Sorghum Checkoff board members will include:

  • Bill Greving, Prairie View, Kansas
  • Bill Kubecka, Palacios, Texas
  • Greg Shelor, Minneola, Kansas

“These outgoing board members are the last of the initial Sorghum Checkoff board directors that helped set the stage for the development of the checkoff and the founding strategy,” said Tim Lust, Sorghum Checkoff CEO. “Their dedication and hard work through the years have resulted in much success. We are greatly appreciative of them and their efforts that have helped push the industry forward.”

The Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders. For information on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board, please contact Kenneth R. Payne by phone at (202) 720-5705, or To see USDA’s press release, click here.

For more information on how growers are appointed to the United Sorghum Checkoff board of directors, click here.