Secretary Vilsack Announces Sorghum Board Appointments

LUBBOCK, Texas – Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced today the appointments of five members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program board of directors. Members will serve three-year terms.

According to the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service press release, the growers appointed to the board are:

  • Adam Baldwin of Moundridge, Kan.
  • John L. Dvoracek of Farwell, Neb.
  • Dale Murden of Monte Alto, Texas
  • Billy C. Bridgeforth of Tanner, Ala., at-large member
  • Verity C. Ulibarri of McAlister, N.M., at-large member

The board is structured so that the state with the largest production is allocated five positions. The state with the second largest production is allocated three positions. The state with the third largest production is allocated one position. There are four at-large national positions for which at least two representatives must be appointed from states other than the top three sorghum producing states. The maximum number of producers from one state is limited to six.

The 13-member board is authorized by the Commodity Promotion, Research, and Information Act of 1996. The Secretary selected the appointees from sorghum producers nominated by certified sorghum producer organizations.

Research and promotion programs are industry-funded, authorized by Congress, and date back to 1966. Since then, Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 research and promotion boards. They empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. The Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal responsibility, program efficiency and fair treatment of participating stakeholders. For information on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board, please contact Kenneth R. Payne by phone at (202) 720-5705, or

To see USDA’s press release, click here.
For more information on how growers are appointed to the United Sorghum Checkoff board of directors, click here.