For more information, contact:
Clint White
Director of Communications
United Sorghum Checkoff Program

For Immediate Release
November 2, 2022

USDA Announces United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board Appointments 

WASHINGTON, DC (November 2, 2022) – The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) announced the appointment of four members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program’s Board of Directors. All four appointees will serve three-year terms starting December 2022 and ending December 2025.

According to the USDA press release, the sorghum farmers appointed to the board are: 

  • Jeffry D. Zortman, Fowler, Kan., Kansas Member
  • Kendall Hodgson, Little River, Kan., Kansas Member
  • Joshua Birdwell, Malone, Texas, Texas Member
  • Zachary Rendel, Miami, Okla., Oklahoma Member

The 13-member United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board is composed of nine sorghum farmers who represent the three states with the largest sorghum production – Kansas, Oklahoma, and Texas – and four at-large national representatives. More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) United Sorghum Checkoff Program webpage and on the board’s website,

Since 1966, Congress has authorized the development of industry-funded research and promotion boards to provide a framework for agricultural industries to pool their resources and combine efforts to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets and conduct important research and promotion activities. AMS provides oversight of 22 boards, paid for by industry assessments, which helps ensure fiscal accountability and program integrity.


The United Sorghum Checkoff Program is a producer-funded organization that is dedicated to improving the sorghum industry through research, promotion and education. For more information about the USCP and other research projects please visit